top of page
  • Writer's picturedohrari

Impromptu Trip to Cave Point

This summer has not been like other summers. Travel is limited, people are distanced and at times the world seems to be in chaos. Even with these extreme circumstances its important to try to keep living and enjoy life— because while this is a stressful and uncertain time it is still something to cherish. 


This is the mentality I took on when trying to enjoy this summer. Because of COVID-19 I am part of the many whose lives do not look like what was originally planned. Before COVID I had a secure and assured job down in Orlando Fl, I was supposed to have moved and had a far different view. However as many of us have had to do, I’ve adapted, I work back in my hometown at a Campsite/resort. (Which at least is a resume boost). The trips I had planned for the summer, I had to put on hold. But new and exciting things have also happened because of COVID; so as bad as things can seem, good can also come out of it. I gained new job experience with reservation systems thanks to this new job, I’ve earned an income where for some seems near impossible. I’ve stayed healthy. Grown closer to my mom whom I’ve staying with for the time being. And because of COVID I’ve gotten the amazing blessing of spending boat loads of time with my Ride or Die bestie, Faith. COVID may have brought distress and new look on the world but out of this I think we all will become stronger and have new experiences. 


This trip, last Tuesday, the 18th was an outcome of impromptu planning and a new adventure. My Bestie Faith and her cousin Halle and I decided to make a trek up to Door County, WI for a quick and much needed getaway. We all three work at the same campground and getting time off all together is RARE. To make the most of our two days off we decided to stay at my late Grandpas cottage on Lake Michigan. First we had to stop in Green Bay for some appointments, including my lash extension fill. It worked out great because while my lashes were getting some TLC, Faith and Halle visited some friends who live in the area. 


After the appointments we stopped at Qdoba for lunch and then begun the scenic drive up to Sturgeon Bay, Door County. The drive up we jammed to music and chatted all the way making the time fly. 


Once up there, we decided to hit up Whitefish Dunes State Park and Cave Point County/State Park. (They are literally right down the road from each other)


Faith had warned us ahead of time that Whitefish Dunes is a little lack luster, she told us to NOT get our hopes up and I hate to say it, but she was right. Not that Whitefish isn’t beautiful— it really is— its just that the sand dunes aren’t really dunes at all. Due to erosion, high lake levels and just the natural cycle of the lake, the dunes are more like sand hills with a lot of beach grass. (SEE BELOW)



We splashed around in Lake Michigan for a bit and the water was not cold (which was a surprise).


We took a couple cute photos, and then decided to head over to Cave Point the sister park. Now that was a SURPRISING change of scenery. Its just 2 miles away but WOW it feels like a whole different state. The cliffs are strong and the waves crash against them making the whole experience breathtaking! IT really makes you appreciate nature and the powerful force water has on the landscape. 










By this time the sun was beginning to set and we decided to come back tomorrow, so we quickly

staked out some good spots to come back the next day and began to head over to Algoma, where my lake house is. 


After having to troubleshoot where to get food— we ended up choosing pizza from Watersedge in Kewaunee, WI. We just hung out with our food and wine and just talked for the rest of the night. 


We woke up the next morning and got ready to take on Cave Point once again. We tried to get an early head start but ended up getting to the Park around noon. And BOY was the place PACKED. We saw all the cars parked and were hesitant to stay because very few people were wearing PPE and social distancing. After some thought we decided to brave it and wear our masks. We did our best to stay away from people but at times it was difficult because the trail was a little narrow. 


Wednesday was a PERFECT day to go to Cave Point, the waves were calmer, the water bluer and the sky clearer. Even the wind which is normally relentless had settled for the time being.


We found this amazing low ledge that allowed the waves to spill onto, making a cute tide pool of sorts. We hung out there and just explored. I, obviously, took advantage of the beautiful location and got a photoshoot in. The whole time during the photoshoot was going on, I kept getting this needling sensation of jumping in the water. I knew I couldn’t tho because my lashes had to set for 12 more hours. But that clear water kept calling my name, finally I couldn’t resist its call anymore and decided to suck up my courage and get into the water. It wasn’t as cold as I thought and all though it did take a bunch of mental hyping up; I did get into the water. It was the highlight of the trip for me. The water was so relaxing and so fun to be in. I LOVE water- Always have. 


After splashing around for a bit we decided to head back home, which was about 2 hours and 30 minuted back. We stopped for some Olive Garden and had a spontaneous picnic at a park. After that it was smooth sailing and belting out Disney songs all the way back home. 


Again I have to thank COVID for limiting my travel options and making me cherish my friends and family all the more. Thank you COVID for opening my eyes to the Beauty of stay-cations and new unexpected adventures. 


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page